Crystal Antlers

Crystal Antlers

Currently slated for a fall 2013 release is the newest Crystal Antlers full-length Nothing Is Real, featuring cover art by famed surf/skate/graffiti legend C.R. Stecyk III and recorded as the band returns to its most fundamental roots as an agile power trio – Jonny Bell, drummer Kevin Stuart and guitarist Andrew King.

Nothing Is Real is Crystal Antlers going beyond the beyond, with songs that rattle and ricochet from desolation to delirium. Opener “Pray” sounds like what would have happened if Black Flag’s Greg Ginn had produced the first Psychedelic Furs single; “Persephone” and “Anywhere But Here” match the desperate, relentless rhythm of the Wipers with the inside-out guitar melodies of the Pixies. “Licorice Pizza” recalls lost cult-punk heroes like the Flesh Eaters or the Embarrassment. On Nothing Is Real, you’ll feel as much as hear echoes of bands like Wire, Sonic Youth and Dinosaur Jr.

As Bell puts it, “With each album, we’ve tried to figure out ways to include more of our whole selves in the recordings, while still keeping things cohesive. And from growing up in punk bands, there always needs to be that little element of something that might piss someone off. We might be using a drum machine—but we’re gonna use it completely the wrong way.”

Crystal Antlers - Music Videos
Various Artists 1/7
  • Crystal Antlers: Two-Way Mirror Official Video
    Crystal Antlers: Two-Way Mirror Official Video
  • Rattlesnake (Official Video)
    Rattlesnake (Official Video)
    Crystal Antlers
  • Summer Solstice OFFICIAL Video
    Summer Solstice OFFICIAL Video
    Crystal Antlers
  • Licorice Pizza (Official Video)
    Licorice Pizza (Official Video)
    Crystal Antlers
  • Crystal Antlers Music Video for "Little Sister"
    Crystal Antlers Music Video for "Little Sister"
  • Crystal Antlers "Dog Days" Music Video
    Crystal Antlers "Dog Days" Music Video
  • Way Out (Official)
    Way Out (Official)
    Crystal Antlers