0'00
 | 
0'00

Bio

Nino Rota, the great arranger of the music to “La Dolce Vita, “La Strada", “The Godfather", “Rocco and His Brothers", and “Romeo and Juliet" not only composed some of the most enchanting soundtracks in the history of cinema; Fellini's favourite composer was also responsible for an impressive repertoire of songs.

   

 

Rota, a child prodigy, was trained by the grand masters of Italian classical music – Pizzetti, Casella and Toscanini - in the 1920s, and he is said to have written his first chorus at the age of six. He was attracted to popular music and theme music at an early stage and went on to write for the cinema, the theatre, music hall and popular music at the same time as working on film soundtracks and his own symphonic and operatic works. A great many artists, from Sydney Bechet to Dalida, from Luis Mariano to Caetano Veloso, have performed tracks that were either written by Rota or inspired by his compositions. They have had great international success (there have been dozens of versions, for example, of Speak Softly Love, the song from Francis Ford Coppola's “The Godfather"), although we may not always recognise these versions as being by the composer of “8½".

 

Mauro Gioia has plunged headfirst into this labyrinthine profusion. This man of the theatre and singer was born in Milan, like Nino Rota, but grew up in Naples. He has often sought to bring the most disturbing and dreamlike aspects of Italian popular music to the stage. “I'm not a singer," he says. “I'm a stage designer who sings, and who evokes and describes things."

 

Fascinated by Rota's eclectic talent and by the evocative power of his melodies, Mauro Gioia decided to explore this breathtaking repertoire of songs, scouring the Internet and rummaging around record stores for 78s and musical scores. In 2003, this passion gave birth of a show called Cabaret Nino Rota, directed by Alfredo Arias, which was performed 300 times in Madrid, Buenos Aires, Rome and Paris as well as other cities.

 

In France, Catherine Ringer (with whom Mauro had already appeared on stage back in 2002 in a musical called Concha Bonita, also directed by Alfredo Arias) and Fred Chichin of Les Rita Mitsouko went to see the show and went away with a demo of Rota's songs that Gioia had recorded with one of the finest Italian arrangers, Tonino Esposito.

 

The adventure stepped up a gear a few months later. Fred Chichin, a rock guitarist with Italian roots, brought a producer's touch to the project, at a decisive moment. “He advised me to give this record a more contemporary feel," Mauro remembers. “He also suggested I open the project up to other artists and record some duets, starting with a song together with Catherine." The guitarist of Les Rita Mitsouko also helped the singer from Naples with recording the vocals, guiding him in the choice of timbre and styles for the duets.

 

The “Rendez-vous chez Nino Rota" project started to roll. With a consistency worthy of Fellini himself, the singer opted to surround himself with women with strong characters, singers of iconic status capable of bringing fresh ideas to songs that were already loaded down with history.

 

Catherine Ringer, who became artistic director of the project after Fred Chichin's death, is joined by an international dream cast. Mauro Gioia, both fragile and energetic, distinguished and decadent, is flanked by the Spanish singer Martirio, the Portuguese star Maria de Medeiros, the German artist Ute Lemper, the Brazilian Adriana Calcanhotto, the Argentinian artist Susana Rinaldi and Sharleen Spiteri, the singer from Scottish band Texas.

 

Martirio, a new wave flamenco artist, seizes Parlami di Me from “La Dolce Vita", blending the smells of the movida of Madrid with those of Fellini's Rome.

 

Maria de Medeiros, a mischievous actress who sang earlier in her career and has directed a film about the history of revolutions (“Captains of April"), gives a sparkling rendition of the childishly playful and anti-authoritarian La Pappa col Pomodoro (a huge hit in Italy in 1964) with its lyrics by the feminist film-maker Lina Wertmüller.

 

Ute Lemper, who owes as much to German expressionism as she does to the Broadway tradition, brings her astral voice to the stellar romanticism of one of Rota's most famous songs, Ai Giochi Addio, taken from Franco Zeffirelli's “Romeo and Juliet".

 

As a tribute to the influence Brazil and the Milanese composer have had on each other, Adriana Calcanhotto, one of the most delicate and innovative voices of the MPB, does a cover of Gelsomina, written to the theme tune of “La Strada" and previously sung by Caetano Veloso.

 

The intense tango star Susana Rinaldi gives a wonderfully theatrical version of Amor Incantator and Gioia is only too happy to be able to accentuate the all-consuming passion of this Argentine pas de deux.

 

Having been brought up on the voices of soul, Sharleen Spiteri leads Speak Softly Love into the realms of jazz, as if the song from “The Godfather" had set down its Sicilian roots in the Cotton Club, echoing the Italian-American theme of Coppola's film.

 

It was Fred Chichin who decided to get Catherine Ringer to perform the strange Belfagor Stomp. This song, which Fellini himself wrote in English (his one and only composition!) for the psychedelic “Juliet of the Spirits", has a lysergic tune that arouses fantasies in a way similar to rock. 36 years after Dalida, the French singer also performs Parle Plus Bas with extraordinary emotional force.

 

Fred Chichin wanted an American to mix the album and Chris Shaw, whose eclectic musical references include Jeff Buckley, Dylan, Public Enemy and a great deal of film music, obliged. He has managed to bring a modern cutting edge to refined, almost cinematographic arrangements, giving this album a timeless elegance.

 

Having already performed “Rendez-vous chez Nino Rota" once with some of his guest stars in Naples on 12 June 2008 and given a memorable concert as a duo with Catherine Ringer in the gardens of the Palais Royal in Paris during the Fête de la Musique, Mauro Gioia now has to repeat the experience at the Théâtre de l'Odéon. The limited edition album includes a DVD with highlights from the Naples concert where Martirio, Maria de Medeiros, Catherine Ringer and Mauro Gioia perform other songs by Rota that do not feature on the disc, such as The Sweet Life, Le Grand Chemin, Che scherzi fa l'amore and Le Bidon. It's as if they wanted to make the magic of this Rendez-vous last just that little bit longer.

 

   

PHOTOS

Mauro Gioia
Mauro Gioia

0'00
 | 
0'00

BIOGRAPHIE

Nino Rota, grand couturier sonore de la Dolce Vita, de La Strada, du Parrain, de Rocco et ses frères ou de Roméo et Juliette, n'a pas simplement tissé quelques unes des bandes-son les plus enchanteresses de l'histoire du cinéma. Le compositeur fétiche de Fellini est aussi à l'origine d'un impressionnant répertoire de chansons. 

Cet ancien enfant prodige, formé, dans les années 1920, par des grands maîtres de la musique classique italienne _ Pizzetti, Casella, Toscanini _, aurait même composé ses premiers refrains dès l'âge de 6 ans. Rapidement attiré par la musique populaire et l'illustration sonore, il a ensuite continué à fournir en chansons le cinéma, le théâtre, le music-hall et les variétés, parallèlement à son travail sur les bandes originales de film et ses oeuvres symphoniques et opératiques. Directement écrits par lui ou inspirés par ses thèmes, ces morceaux ont connu une myriade d'interprètes _ de Sydney Bechet à Dalida, de Luis Mariano à Caetano Veloso _ et des succès internationaux (les dizaines de versions, par exemple, de Speak Softly Love, la chanson tirée du Parrain de Francis Ford Coppola) sans qu'on les identifie toujours au compositeur de Huit et demi. 

C'est dans cette profusion labyrinthique que s'est engouffré Mauro Gioia. Né à Milan, comme Nino Rota, mais grandi à Naples, cet homme de théâtre-chanteur s'est souvent attaché à porter sur scène les facettes les plus troublantes et oniriques de la musique populaire italienne. « Je ne suis pas un chanteur » dit-il, « mais un scénographe qui chante, qui évoque, qui décrit ». 

Fasciné par l'éclectisme du talent de Rota et la puissance évocatrice de ses mélodies, Mauro Gioia explorera, de 78 tours en partitions, de fouilles sur Internet en disquaires pour collectionneurs, ce corpus foisonnant de chansons. En 2003, un spectacle, Cabaret Nino Rota, mis en scène par Alfredo Arias, naîtra de cette passion, le temps de 300 représentations qui passeront, entre autres, par Madrid, Buenos-Aires, Rome et Paris. 

En France, Catherine Ringer (avec qui Mauro avait partagé la scène, en 2002, dans une comédie musicale, Concha Bonita, également mis en scène par Arias) et Fred Chichin, assistent au spectacle et repartent avec une maquette de chansons de Rota que Gioia a enregistré avec un des plus fins arrangeurs italiens : Tonino Esposito. 

L'aventure s'accélère quelques mois plus tard. Guitariste rock aux origines italiennes, Fred Chichin apportera au projet sa vision décisive de producteur. « Il m'a conseillé de donner une dimension plus contemporaine à ce disque » se souvient Mauro, « il m'a aussi suggéré de partager ce projet avec d'autres artistes, d'enregistrer des duos, à commencer par une chanson avec Catherine ». Le guitariste des Rita Mitsouko aidera également le chanteur Napolitain lors de l'enregistrement de ses voix, le guidant dans le choix du timbre et des styles à donner aux duos. 

Le concept de Rendez-vous chez Nino Rota pouvait alors s'épanouir. Avec une cohérence toute fellinienne, le chanteur a choisi de s'entourer de fortes personnalités féminines, des chanteuses à l'aura d'icônes capables d'inscrire leur imaginaire dans des chansons déjà chargées d'histoire. 

Aux côtés de Catherine Ringer, qui, après la disparition de Fred Chichin, prendra la direction artistique du projet, on retrouve une distribution internationale de rêve. L'Espagnole Martirio, la Portugaise Maria de Medeiros, l'Allemande Ute Lemper, la Brésilienne Adriana Calcanhoto, l'Argentine Susana Rinaldi et la chanteuse du groupe Texas, l'Ecossaise Sharleen Spiteri, entourent un Mauro Gioia à la fois fragile et plein d'allant, distingué et décadent. 

Figure du renouveau du flamenco, Martirio s'empare de Parlami Di Me, tiré de la Dolce Vita, en mêlant les parfums de la movida madrilène à ceux de la Rome fellinienne. 

Comédienne mutine souvent passée par la chanson, réalisatrice (le film Capitaines d'Avril) attachée à l'histoire des révolutions, Maria de Medeiros pétille sur le ludisme enfantin et contestataire de La Pappa col pomodoro (gros tube en Italie, en 1964), aux paroles signées par la cinéaste féministe Lina Wertmüller. 

Devant autant à l'expressionnisme allemand qu'à la tradition de Broadway, Ute Lemper pose sa voix astrale sur le romantisme stellaire d'une des plus célèbres chansons de Rota, Ai Giochi Addio, tiré du Roméo et Juliette de Franco Zeffirelli. 

Comme un hommage aux influences réciproques qu'ont pu s'échanger le Brésil et le compositeur milanais, Adriana Calcanhoto _ une des voix les plus délicates et novatrices de la MPB _ reprend Gelsomina, écrite sur le thème de La Strada, jadis interprété par Caetano Veloso. 

Vedette intense du tango, Susana Rinaldi théâtralise à plaisir Amor Incantator, avec un Gioia ravi d'accentuer la passion dévorante de ce pas de deux argentins. 

Elevée aux voix de la soul, Sharleen Spiteri attire Speak Softly Love vers le jazz, comme si les racines siciliennes de la chanson du Parrain prenaient souche au Cotton club, en écho à la thématique italo-américaine du film de Coppola. 

C'est Fred Chichin qui a choisi de faire interpréter l'étrange Belfagor Stomp par Catherine Ringer. Cette chanson écrite en anglais par Fellini lui-même (la seule dont il ait jamais été l'auteur !) pour le psychédélique Juliette des esprits, trace une mélodie lysergique appelant à des fantasmes cousins de ceux du rock. 36 ans après Dalida, la Française interprète également un Parle plus bas, toute en puissance émotive. 

Conformément au souhait de Fred Chichin, un anglo-saxon a mixé cet album. Américain aux références éclectiques (Jeff Buckley, Dylan, Public Enemy et beaucoup de musiques de films), Chris Shaw a su concilier le raffinement d'arrangements quasi cinématographiques et le tranchant d'une dynamique contemporaine pour parer cet album d'une élégance intemporelle. 

Après un premier spectacle Rendez-vous chez Nino Rota, donné à Naples, le 12 juin 2008, avec quelques-unes de ses invitées, et un concert mémorable, en duo avec Catherine Ringer, dans les jardins du Palais-Royal, à Paris, à l'occasion de la Fête de la musique, Mauro Gioia doit reproduire l'expérience au théâtre de l'Odéon. Inclus dans l'édition limitée de l'album, un DVD présente un condensé du concert de Naples où Martirio, Maria de Medeiros, Catherine Ringer et Mauro Gioia élargissent le répertoire du disque à d'autres reprises de Rota _ The Sweet Life, Le Grand chemin, Che scherzi fa l'amore, Le Bidon... _. Comme pour prolonger la magie de ce Rendez-vous.

   

   

PHOTOS

Mauro Gioia
Mauro Gioia